What is AI?
Artificial intelligence (AI) is a broad field of computer science focused on creating systems that can perform tasks that typically require human intelligence. This includes learning, problem-solving, and understanding language.
AI tools can help us understand topics or generate ideas (among other uses). To get an understanding of what two types of AI do, let's consider the following.
- ChatGPT, Google Gemini, Microsoft Copilot, and other Generative AI (GenAI) tools are designed to create new, original content. They generate new text, images, code, or other media based on patterns it has learned from a massive, and often uncurated, dataset. The output is newly created and not a direct summary of a specific source.
- AI tools within databases serve a different purpose. These tools are designed to analyze and organize existing, curated information within a specific database. Their primary purpose is to make research more efficient by helping users find, summarize, and understand information that is already there. The output is directly linked to the source material.
Both types of AI can be helpful when used correctly during your research.
AI within Library Resources
Many library database providers are now integrating AI tools and features into their platforms. These features aim to help users more efficiently discover, understand, and engage with scholarly content, all within their searches and search results.
-
AI Tools & Library Resources (Video)
Recorded 9/10/25, this Panopto video highlights some new AI features within the Libraries' databases.
Try out some databases' AI tools for yourself!Click these database links to visit some of the library databases that have built-in AI tools.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
- JSTOR (JSTOR)
- ProQuest Central (ProQuest)
- Ebook Central (ProQuest)
- Journals@Ovid example journal: Advances in Nursing Science (Ovid)
Information About Library AI Tools
This is just a sample of the AI tools being offered within library databases. Publishers and platforms are always changing and improving, so check back periodically to learn more about these efforts.
-
EBSCO's AI InsightsEBSCOhost databases, such as Academic Search Complete, include a tool called AI Insights. You can find this feature on your results screen or, if available for your article, in the article details. Click “Generate AI Insights” or a similarly worded button to read a summary of an article's key points. Click to learn more.
-
JSTOR's AI Research ToolJSTOR's AI research tool appears on content pages for journal articles, book chapters, research reports, and in search workflows that go beyond standard keyword matching. It will not use external sources to hypothesize answers or share your searches outside of JSTOR. Click to learn more.
-
ProQuest Research AssistantProQuest databases, such as ProQuest Central, include an AI tool called ProQuest Research Assistant. As you're using the database, the tool integrates AI-powered suggestions and prompts at critical points of your research journey. Click to learn more.
-
Ovid AI Article SummaryWolters Kluwer Health added an AI Article Summary (beta) to *select* titles on the Ovid platform. Their AI tool is intended to help researchers early in their discovery process by providing insights from the peer-reviewed literature. Click for more information.
GenAI Tips
Generative AI should be treated as a starting point or a creative assistant. Its outputs should always be independently verified using a reliable source, as it can generate plausible but incorrect information.
-
Guide to Using Artificial Intelligence for ResearchThis library guide shares information about ethical ways to use AI for research. This area is changing quickly, and the guide will be updated periodically.
-
Provost's Office Guidance for Students re: GenAIThe Provost's Office website has relevant information about AI on their Student Resources page.
-
Adelphi IT Guidance re: GenAICampus IT created this service catalog entry for Generative Artificial Intelligence (AI) guidance.