Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Educational Resources

This guide provides an introduction to Open Educational Resources (OER) and links to resources like databases containing them.

Where do I search for OER?

 

Finding OER

The following search engines and websites are great places to look for OER that would be suitable for your courses. See the OER by Discipline page for OER initiatives and collections organized by discipline and school.

George Mason University OER Metafinder

A distinct feature of the Mason OER Metafinder is the scope of our discovery service.  We’re searching well-known OER repositories like OpenStax, OER Commons, MERLOT but also sites like HathiTrust, DPLA, Internet Archive and NYPL Digital Collections where valuable but often overlooked (and often “open”) educational materials may be found.

OER by Discipline Directory

The BCcampus Open Education OER by Discipline Directory lists a wide range of open educational resources organized by discipline. This directory is updated as new resources are identified. 

OER Commons

OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum.

Open Research Library

The Open Research Library (ORL) is an aggregation of peer-reviewed, Open Access, scholarly monographs which is hosted on the BiblioBoard platform. Hosting makes the user experience consistent across the collection and enables users to maintain a single bookshelf for all of their Open Access book content.

Open Textbook Library

Textbooks in the Open Textbook Library are considered open because they are free to use and distribute, and are licensed to be freely adapted or changed with proper attribution.

OpenStax

Peer-reviewed. Openly licensed. 100% free. And backed by additional learning resources. Review our OpenStax textbooks and decide if they are right for your course. Simple to adopt, free to use. We make it easy to improve student access to higher education.

Pressbooks Directory

This directory provides an index of 2,952 books published across 109 Pressbooks networks.