Databases
A database is a tool to help you find quality information in publications such as academic journals, newspapers, and magazines. In the library the word database usually refers to a subscription database. The library subscribes to a database, similarly to how you would subscribe to an individual magazine or newspaper.
There are many different types of databases. Some are specifically for Nursing, general information, interdisciplinary, etc.
To see a listing of databases recommended for topics in Nursing, go to the library homepage. Type Nursing in the search box and select Databases & More.
To see a full list of the library's databases choose Advanced Search, then A-Z Databases & More in the gold menu bar at the top of the page. At the A-Z Databases & More page you can sort by subject.
Below are some of the recommended databases. Hover over the title for more information on each database. For help with searching in the databases, please contact Prof. Lori Caniano.
Nursing:
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window A core collection of articles, evidence-based care sheets, and book chapters in the areas of nursing and allied health, 1937 to present.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window A collection of evidence-based health care resources including Cochrane Reviews, the Cochrane Controlled Trials Register, NHS Economic Evaluation Database, Health Technology Assessment Database, and the Cochrane Methodology Register. The Cochrane Reviews are provided in full text.
- This link opens in a new window
- JBI This link opens in a new window
- MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window Provides full text for nearly 1,200 journals indexed in MEDLINE, including more than 1,400,000 full-text articles dating back to 1965.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Pubmed (Entrez) This link opens in a new window Citations and abstracts for articles in biomedical journals.
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary:
- PsycNET This link opens in a new window Provides a cross searchable interface for APA databases, PsycINFO, PsycARTICLES, PsycBOOKS, PsycCRITIQUES, PsycTESTS, PsycTHERAPY. and PsycEXTRA. The latter includes gray literature such as reports, newsletters and consumer brochures.
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
General:
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Large multidisciplinary database including more than 25,000 titles, over 19,000 in full text. Besides journals, PQC includes 2206 newspapers, over 100,000 full text dissertations, 30,000 market reports, with some backfiles dating as far back as 1921
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Limiters
Limiters allow you to select attributes to refine your search. Limiters are often on the advanced search screen and as a menu on the results page. Common limiters include: date, full-text, peer-reviewed, scholarly journals and document type.
Boolean Searching
Boolean searching uses operators "AND", "OR", and "NOT" to maximize the relevancy and effectiveness of the search. This is a common way to search when using databases. Click on the image below to see how it works.
Truncation
Truncation is a searching technique where you replace the end of the word with a symbol. Most databases use an asterisk (*). Using this technique will help you when you aren't sure which word you are looking for or want to search multiple forms. For example, child* with the asterisk will show results for child, children, childhood; while child with no asterisk will show results for child only.