Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing 874 Library Orientation

Library Resources for Jacob NUR-874

Databases

A database is a tool to help you find quality information in publications such as academic journals, newspapers, and magazines. In the library the word database usually refers to a subscription database. The library subscribes to a database, similarly to how you would subscribe to an individual magazine or newspaper. 

There are many different types of databases. Some are specifically for Nursing, general information, dissertations, etc.

To see a listing of databases recommended for topics in Nursing go to the library homepage. Type Nursing in the search box and select Databases & More.

 

Below are some of the recommended databases. Hover over the i icon for more information on each database. For help with searching in the databases, please contact Prof. Lori Caniano.


 

Nursing:

 

Interdisciplinary:

 

Dissertations:

 

General:

Learn about the differences between Scholarly Journals and Popular Magazines.

 

 

This short video will explain what Peer Reviewed means. 

 

Limiters

Limiters allow you to select attributes to refine your search. Limiters are often on the advanced search screen and as a menu on the results page. Common limiters include: date, full-text, peer-reviewed, scholarly journals and document type. 


Boolean Searching

Boolean searching uses operators "AND", "OR", and "NOT" to maximize the relevancy and effectiveness of the search. This is a common way to search when using databases. Click on the image below to see how it works.


Truncation

Truncation is a searching technique where you replace the end of the word with a symbol. Most databases use an asterisk (*). Using this technique will help you when you aren't sure which word you are looking for or want to search multiple forms. For example, child* with the asterisk will show results for child, children, childhood; while child with no asterisk will show results for child only.