Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Adelphi University

Western Translation Theory

Research resources and guidance for Western Translation Theory (Dr. Ana Isabel Simón Alegre), Fall 2019, TRA 210

Library Databases

What is a database?

  • A resource that contains materials vouched for by experts, editors, or librarians

Why use them? Save time!

  • Also, databases are more extensive & reliable than Google (and you won’t be prompted to pay for articles)

The library has subject-specific databases to help you find what you need.

See the "Find Articles" tab for suggested databases to use for your paper.

What is a database?

A database is a tool to help you find quality information in publications such as academic journals, newspapers, and magazines. In the library the word database usually refers to a subscription database.  The library subscribes to a database, similarly to how you would subscribe to an individual magazine or newspaper.

Why use Databases?-37 sec tutorial

Search Strategy Builder

Search Strategy Builder

 

The Search Strategy Builder is a tool designed to teach you how to create a search string using Boolean logic. While it is not a database and is not designed to input a search, you should be able to cut and paste the results into most databases’ search boxes.

Concept 1 AND Concept 2 AND Concept 3
Name your concepts here
Search terms Search terms Search terms
List alternate terms for each concept.

These can be synonyms, or they can be specific examples of the concept.

Use single words or short phrases

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

Now copy and paste the above Search Strategy into a database search box.

The Search Strategy Builder was developed by the University of Arizona Libraries and is used under a Creative Commons License.