Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Translation Studies

This guide is designed to assist students in the Translation Studies program.

Find Articles via Databases

Many of the library's resources are available online through our licensed subscription databases.

  1. If you know the name a specific database (ex. JSTOR), you can search by title on the top line and click "Search Databases."
     
  2. If you don't know which database to search, use the "Select a Subject" drop-down box to narrow by subject.

Some library databases contain articles from multiple disciplines. 

In addition to searching multi-disciplinary databases, students should also try the following resources.

Find Journals by Title

Many of the library's resources are available online through our licensed subscription databases.

  1. If you know the name a specific journal, you can search by title on the top and click "Search." Be sure you see your search options by using the drop-down menu.
     
  2. If you don't know which journal you want and want to browse by title (or subject), use the "Browse Journal Titles A-Z" option.

For example, browsing e-resources by the subject "Languages & Literature" displays:

   
  

Subject Headings in Languages & Literatures

Do not give up.

  1. Check your spelling.
  2. See if another journal would work--if so, search the library's databases or OneSearch.
  3. No luck? Request the article through the library's Smart Delivery service, which allows Adelphi students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials from other libraries. Look at the link on the left for more information. *Adelphi's databases have this option built into them when you cannot find full text during database searches.