Skip to main content

SWK 498/749 Social Work & The Law: Getting Started

INSTRUCTIONAL TUTORIAL: IMPROVING YOUR SEARCH STRATEGY

After you have done some background reading and formulated your research question it is time to begin searching in some of our databases for articles.  This tutorial help you learn how to select keywords and improve your search strategy.

Databases for Finding Articles by Discipline

Search Databases

To find articles in a specific subject area, here is a list of our databases by subject:

 

 or Browse all Databases

 

General and Subject Specific Article Databases

The first four Databases listed below are  general all purpose databases that can be useful as a starting point for any Social work research. Remember to click on the advanced search screen to enter your each key concepts on separate line.

Social work is interdisciplinary in nature so using an all purpose databases will help you determine where literature on your topic is coming from e.g., Education journals, Psychology journals, Criminology journals, etc.

Connect to Article

Connect to Article--Article Linker

Connect to Article

Results from a database search are often in the form of a list of citations. Article Linker is a tool to help you retrieve full text journal or newspaper articles, connecting you to the whole article if the journal or newspaper is in an AU database. To begin, look for the icon in your results page

Since our collection includes databases from varying vendors, not all databases connect in the same manner.

  • In some cases the system will connect directly to the article.
  • Or, the page may contain a link to the article. 
  • Or, you may have to enter the Journal title into Alicat and then find the needed Volume & Issue

Review the following guides to familiarize yourself with Article Linker. If an article is not available in any AU database online then you may order the article through Interlibrary Loan. Fill out and submit your request for a journal article using the online form. The article will then be sent to your Adelphi email account in a few days.