It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Literature Criticism OnlineThis link opens in a new window- Contemporary Literary Criticism® - Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism® - Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism® - Literature Criticism from 1400-1800 - Shakespearean Criticism - Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism - Poetry Criticism - Short Story Criticism - Drama Criticism - Children’s Literature Review
8 v. "The series has an accessible style and format that allow readers to zero in on precise characteristics of a poet's work. The Critical Survey of Poetry presents 698 poets in 697 essays. Each essay includes full birth and death data and is broken down into principal poetry, other literary forms, achievements, biography, and analysis. Essays also include several sections on discrete poems or poetry collections, other major works, and bibliography."
12 v. "Masterplots was the first book published by Salem Press in 1949 and is the original work of literary reference offering plot summaries. From a collection of 500 plot summaries of world-famous novels, plays, poems and works of non-fiction, Masterplots has grown to cover plot synopses, critical commentary, character profiles, literary settings and biographical profiles in more than 12,000 reference articles. Masterplots articles are designed to be efficient reference sources, providing available facts about a work at a glance. Each article opens with ready-reference information: Type of work, author, first publication date, and English translation date where applicable. Narrative works also receive type of plot, time of plot, locale, and principal characters."
6 v. "The 567 entries in Masterplots II: American Fiction Series, Revised Edition cover a broad range of writers and works. Classics by such canonical U.S. writers as Ernest Hemingway and William Faulkner are given thorough treatment, as are the masterworks of such Latin American giants as Gabriel Garc'a M'rquez and Carlos Fuentes and such Canadian notables as Robertson Davies and Margaret Atwood. The increasing prominence of ethnic voices in U.S. fiction is reflected by articles on works by such writers as Toni Morrison, Louise Erdrich, Ernest J. Gaines, and Rolando Hinojosa. Important developments in women's literature are treated in discussions of works by such authors as Barbara Kingsolver, Terry McMillan, and Amy Tan. Discussion of works by such best-selling writers as Stephen King and Scott Turow reflects the state of American popular fiction. Essays on books by such past writers as D'Arcy McNickle and John Okada help to give a more complete picture of America's literary history."
3 v. "The tenth entry in the acclaimed Masterplots II series, the present set contains 266 essays, presented in the familiar Magill format, examining the major writings of the African American tradition in all genres. The scope is broad, with established, canonical writers such as Richard Wright and Ralph Ellison discussed alongside such less-explored writers as Chester Himes and Gordon Parks. The works of women writers figure prominently, with attention paid both to contemporaries such as Toni Morrison and Alice Walker, and forerunners such as Pauline Hopkins and Ann Petry. The disenfranchisement of talented black writers of the past is redressed in discussions of such fascinating documents as the slave narratives of Olaudah Equiano and John Marrant, while entries on the speeches of Martin Luther King, Jr., and Malcolm X examine the paradigms of late 20th-century African American public discourse."
8 v. "Contains in-depth analytical reference guides to 463 major writers of world literature. The series has an accessible style and format that allow readers to zero in on precise characteristics of an author's work. Essays are arranged alphabetically by author, and begin with dates and places of birth and death. The essays also include a list of the author's principal long fiction, a brief overview of other literary forms, the authors biography and achievements, and a comprehensive analysis of each work.
4 v. "Covers plays by important 20th century playwrights, such as Samuel Beckett, Arthur Miller, Eugene O'Neill, George Bernard Shaw, Neil Simon and Tennessee Williams, among others. Most of the plays covered in Masterplots II: Drama Series are English-language works, but the content has a worldwide scope. The set also covers 30 plays by women."
6 v. " Five of the volumes cover 164 playwrights of English-language drama from the Wakefield Master to Paul Zindel, and include a broad range of British and American dramatists from the Restoration to the 20th century. The articles are well written, and run from 10 to 12 pages in length. Each entry includes short sections on other genres in which the author wrote; achievements; biography; analysis; a bibliography of major works; and a short bibliography of secondary studies. A sixth volume contains short essays on genres, drama by historical periods, English-language drama in various lands (e.g., Ireland), and alternative forms of drama (e.g., television, experimental, musical). There is a 30-page glossary of dramatic terms, an index, and a bibliography of general works on drama that supplements the author-specific bibliographies in the other volumes. All author entries and essays are signed, and many are written by scholars of solid reputation. A vade mecum for the neophyte, and a valuable addition for reference collections."
8 v. "Provides penetrating discussions of the content, themes, structure and techniques of 1,490 stories from every inhabited region in the world: North America (the majority), Africa, Asia, West Indies, Latin America, Australia, New Zealand, Great Britain and other European countries."
7 v. "The 515 essays revolving around short fiction are arranged alphabetically by author and provide in-depth overviews of short story writers. Each essay contains ready-reference top matter, including full birth and death data, substantial listings of literary works by genre and bibliographical sources for further study."