Women in United States History

What are Primary Sources?

Primary sources are documents or physical objects which were created--in many formats--during the time an event happened. We can think of it as a "first-hand testimony." Below are examples of different types of primary sources. (Hover over any in bold face to see an image from Adelphi Archives and Special Collections!):

• diaries, souvenir travel albumPanama Canal Pictures. Washington Square, Philadelphia: Wilmer Atkinson Company, 1913. “This little book, however aims only to give some of the latest pictures showing the progress of the work, and to give them in such orderly form that the reader may feel he or she has made a personal trip, even if a very rapid one across the Isthmus.” Adelphi Archives & Special Collections., yearbooksThe Oracle is the Adelphi University yearbook. The Oracle staff presented this yearbook to the graduates of the class of 1953. Adelphi Archives & Special Collections., manuscripts, correspondenceLetter from Gertrude Stein to Albert S. Kelley, circa 1940s. Albert Kelley, who was chairman of Adelphi’s Art Department, met Gertrude Stein while serving in the U.S. Army in France during World War II. She wrote to thank him for a gift package. Adelphi Archives & Special Collections. (now to include emails, blogs, tweets)
• interviews, medalsFive-Piece Bronze Roosevelt Medal, issued to J. H. Kane. Over 7000 medals were distributed to civilian Americans completing two or more years of service on the Panama Canal construction from 1904-1914. The pendant depicts President Theodore Roosevelt. Adelphi Archives & Special Collections., memorabiliaAdelphi Tea China and College Crest Car Door Shield. These artifacts were donated by Patricia C. Realmuto who graduated in 1973. Adelphi Archives & Special Collections.
• government records, documents, reports, presidential papers, political pamphletThe Political House That Jack Built. London: Printed by and for William Hone, 1819. Hone’s pamphlet was illustrated with caricatures by George Cruikshank. This powerful political satire exposed government oppression in the form of a nursery rhyme, “The House That Jack Built.” Adelphi Archives & Special Collections.
• vital records (birth, marriage, death), court records, property records
• published results of cllinical trials, scientific experiments
• newspaper articles' first report on an eventMen Walk on Moon, NY Times front page, July 21, 1969. Adelphi Archives & Special Collections.
• military reports, military rosters, military archival photosCadet Nurse Corps, photograph circa 1944. Women from all over the country participated in the World War II effort by joining the Cadet Nurse Corps program at Adelphi College. The program received national recognition. In 1944 Eleanor Roosevelt came to Adelphi to dedicate the nurses’ dormitories. Adelphi Archives & Special Collections.
• newspaper, news television, news radio broadcasts that contain first-hand information
• mapsGeneral Map of The Panama Canal: An Official Guide of the Isthmian Canal Commission, Published by Wm. M. Baxter, Jr., Boston: Rand Avery Supply Company, circa 1900. Adelphi Archives & Special Collections., photographs of an eventThe Moon: A New Frontier, NY Times Special Supplement, August 3, 1969. Adelphi Archives & Special Collections. , postcardsPostcard of President Roosevelt on a Visit through the Canal (Panama). I.L. Maduro, Jr., Photographer, Panama, 1906. Theodore Roosevelt was the first U.S. president to travel outside the country, visiting Panama from November 14-17, 1906. Adelphi Archives & Special Collections., advertisements
• original works of artThe Street. Artist John DePol created this powerful wood engraving for The New York Observer in 1995. Adelphi Archives & Special Collections., musicAt Night, musical arrangement for piano solo by Richard Stoelzer, 1892. This is a “Fantasie Grand Duett for Viola d'amour and Viol-da-Gamba as played by the Mozart Symphony Club of New York.” Adelphi Archives & Special Collections., literature, and performance
• artifacts--fossils, furniture, clothing, pottery, jewelry, lunar modelModel of Lunar Module (LM 5) built by the Grumman Corporation of Bethpage, Long Island, NY for NASA's Apollo 11 mission, the first manned landing on the moon. Inscribed "One small step for man...One giant leap for mankind." 10:56 EDT July 20, 1969. Adelphi Archives & Special Collections.

Secondary sources offer evaluation, discussion, or analysis on primary sources and are usually created some time after the original time of the event. Examples of secondary sources:

• biographies
• books, magazine, journal, or newspaper articles about people or events
• editorials
• discussions, commentary, and analyses of primary sources
• book, film, theatre reviews
• literature reviews
• textbooks

The key to determining whether an item may be considered to be a primary source is to ask how soon after the event was the information recorded. This can be a problem with an autobiography, memoir, reminiscence, etc., if the author is working several years with only the memory of what happened. If you're not sure whether something is an acceptable primary source, ask your professor.

U.S. National Archives Administration home page provides helpful information when starting archival (primary source) research.