This is an excellent source for topic selection. Volume 1: The Profession of Social Work, edited by Barbara W. White, PhD, University of Texas at Austin, contains a broad range of key topics such as the history of social work and social welfare, the scope of social work practice, professional credentials and professional regulations, values and ethics, international social work, and much more.
Volume 2: Human Behavior in the Social Environment, edited by Bruce A. Thyer, PhD, Florida State University, includes information on the conceptual foundations of social work and thorough coverage of theories such as ecosystem theory, cognitive behavioral theory, attachment theory, psychosocial theory, genetic theory, and more.
Chapter 1: Human Behavior and the Social Environment: Exploring Conceptual Foundations (Susan I. Stone, Stephanie Berzin, Sarah Taylor, and Michael J. Austin) Chapter 2: Respondent Learning Theory (Bruce A. Thyer) Chapter 3: Operant Learning Theory (Stephen E. Wong) Chapter 4: Cognitive-Behavioral Theory (Paula S. Nurius and Rebecca J. Macy) Chapter 5: Attachment Theory (Michelle Mohr Carney and Frederick P. Buttell) Chapter 6: Psychosocial Theory (Roberta R. Greene) Chapter 7: Person-Centered Theory (Michael J. Holosko, Jeffrey Skinner, and Ra'Shanda S. Robinson) Chapter 8: Genetic Theory (Laura J. Pankow) Chapter 9: Ecosystems Theory (Mark A. Mattaini and Kristen Huffman-Gottschling) Chapter 10: Small Group Theory (Lorraine Moya Salas, Dominique Roe-Sepowitz, and Craig Winston LeCroy) Chapter 11: Family Systems Theory (Martha Morrison Dore) Chapter 12: Organizational Theory (John E. Tropman) Chapter 13: The Potentially Harmful Effects of Theory in Social Work (Bruce A. Thyer)
The National Association of Social Workers' The Encyclopedia of Social Work has long been considered the cornerstone reference in the field. The new, completely updated, revised and expanded 20th edition includes 400 articles covering all aspects of social work including: practice and interventions; social environments; social conditions and challenges; and social policy and history. This new edition of the Encyclopedia includes coverage of areas that have come to the fore since the 1995