Hudson Valley Voter's Guide

• AARP Government & Elections

  Information targeted at older voters; covers both federal and state elections

• APIAVote (Asian and Pacific Islander American Vote)

  A nonpartisan nonprofit dedicated to engaging, educating, and empowering Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) communities to strengthen their voices and create impact.

• Military Voters

  Federal Voting Assistance Program. Voting assistance for Service members, their families and overseas citizens.

• National Center for Transgender Equality: Voting Rights

  Information targeted at transgender voters.

• National Coalition on Black Civic Participation

• National Homeless Coalition

  You don't need a home to vote!

• Native Vote

  Resources for indigenous people in all 50 states

• Resources for Voters with Disabilities

  From the U.S. Election Assistance Commission.

• Rock the Vote

  Voter information and engagement resources targeted to the under-30 set, but excellent voter/voting info source for all

• State Criminal Re-enfranchisement Laws

  A map of state felony disenfranchisement laws.

• Student Guides: Campus Vote Project

  A voting guide aimed at students.

• Study Abroad and Vote! Toolkit

  This toolkit provides voter outreach promotional tools and information to American students studying abroad. U.S. students carry their right to vote when they go overseas! Free Overseas Voter Registration and Ballot Request Widget. Includes This toolkit provides voter outreach promotional tools and information to American students studying abroad. U.S. students carry their right to vote when they go overseas! Free Overseas Voter Registration and Ballot Request Widget. Includes a guide for Study Abroad program coordinators with suggestions for use of the toolkit materials.

Voting Rights: Laws, Cases, Policy

• American Civil Liberties Union: Voting Rights

• Department of Justice Civil Rights: Voting Section

• Election Protection

• Federal Election Commission

  Information about federal election campaign finance law and compliance.

• LexisNexis® U.S. Voting Laws & Legislation Center

  Website on voting laws and proposed legislation.

• Fact Sheet: Protecting against Voter Intimidation

  Details conduct that constitutes voter intimidation and what to do if you experience voter intimidation.

• Ballotpedia: Encyclopedia of American Politics

  An encyclopedia of American politics and elections. Provides accurate and objective information about politics at all levels of government.

• CSPAN: Campaign 2022

• Project Vote Smart

  Sample Ballots by Zip Code. Elected Officials & Candidates voting records, interest group ratings, speeches, campaign contributions, and contact information, current and past ballot measures by date & issue

Voter Engagement

• Nonprofit Vote

  Resources for non-partisan voter registration drives and engagement

• Voting Emphasis Weeks

  Resources for Military Services and overseas citizens groups to to inform absentee voters of their right to vote and help ensure they are aware of the steps they need to follow.

Campaign Finance/Funding Information

• Federal Election Commission

  Information about federal election campaign finance law and compliance.

• Open Secrets

  Nonpartisan information about the influence of money on politics.

• Vote Smart

  Elected officials & candidates voting records, interest group ratings, speeches, campaign contributions, and contact information, current and past ballot measures by date & issue

•  

Librarians from the Government Documents Round Table (GODORT), a Round Table of the American Library Association (ALA), created these reference guides. These guides are intended for informational purposes only and are not in any way intended to be legal advice.

If you have questions or feedback to share about these guides, we encourage you to CONTACT US.

These guides are designated with a Creative Commons license and re-use and modification for educational purposes is encouraged.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.