Health Sciences
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is the premier database for finding nursing literature. CINAHL contains a core collection of articles, evidence-based care sheets, and book chapters in the areas of nursing and allied health from 1937 to the present.
- MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Medline is created by the National Library of Medicine and is the world's foremost database of biomedical literature. Searching in Medline with Full Text is similar to searching in CINAHL Complete, but subject headings and some of the evidence-based limiters are slightly different.
- Pubmed (Entrez) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free authoritative database of more than 30 million citations produced by the National Library of Medicine and is one of the largest biomedical databases in the world. PubMed provides free access to MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine's database of citations and abstracts from around the world, which covers fields such as medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences, biomedical and life sciences literature. PubMed also contains some of National Center for Biotechnology Information books, and some in-process citations and citations that are ahead-of-print.
Source: University of Maryland Health Sciences and Human Services Library
PubMed: Find Articles on a Topic An interactive tutorial to help you search PubMed for articles on a specific topic.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library is the leading journal and database for finding systematic reviews in health care. It is a powerful evidence-based tool to enhance your healthcare knowledge and decision making. Cochrane reviews are systematic reviews undertaken by members of the Cochrane Collaboration, an international not-for-profit organization. Cochrane aims to help people make well-informed decisions about healthcare by preparing, maintaining, and promoting the accessibility of systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare interventions. Cochrane Library also includes clinical trials and other information.
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)A highly concentrated source of reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials. Most CENTRAL records are taken from bibliographic databases (mainly PubMed and Embase), but records are also derived from other published and unpublished sources, including CINAHL, ClinicalTrials.gov and the WHO's International Clinical Trials Registry Platform.
Basic search tutorial on the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews from Drexel University Library.
Cochrane Handbook: Searching for and Selecting Studies Appendix of Resources A list of resources for review authors. It is provided to support and complement the Technical supplement to Chapter 4: Searching for and selecting studies. Maintained by Julie Glanville (julie@glanville.info).
- JBI This link opens in a new windowJoanna Briggs Institute EBP Database is an online resource for healthcare professionals to rapidly access the best available evidence on a wide range of clinical topics at the point of care. Globally acknowledged as a leading producer of evidence-based care, practice guidance and other resources, JBI includes 4500+ JBI Evidence Summaries, Recommended Practices and Best Practice Information Sheets.
Multidisciplinary
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
A large multidisciplinary database that includes more than 25,000 titles, over 19,000 in full text. Besides journals, PQC includes 2206 newspapers, over 100,000 full text dissertations, 30,000 market reports, with some backfiles dating as far back as 1921. Includes Campbell Systematic Reviews (social sciences).
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive coverage of scientific, technical, medical, and social science information, including citation data, dating as far back as 1966 to the present. In addition, 3,500 of its 18,000 journal titles cover the arts and humanities.
How to Conduct a Basic Search Tutorial A video tutorial on searching Scopus from the Scopus Access and Use Support Center.
How to Use Advanced Search Tutorial A video tutorial on advanced searching from the Scopis Access and Use Support Center.
Social and Behavioral Sciences
- APA PsycInfoProvides scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences, indexing journals, books, reviews, and dissertations.
- The Campbell CollaborationBrowse the collection of plain language summaries of Campbell systematic review and evidence and gap maps reviews by subject area.