Skip to main content

Rooms and Spaces

LC CALL NUMBER GUIDE

AC - DB
Level 5S

DC - E185
Level 4S

E185 - HQ
Level 3S

HT - PN
Level 2S

PR - PS, M, Theses, Reference Law Sets, Ref Z
Level C

PQ - ZA (Except PZ)
Level S

Juvenile Materials
Level 5S

Periodicals

Current Newspapers
Access Services-First Floor

Current & Bound Journals
Access Services

Microfilm (A-Z)
Second Floor

Microfilm, Classified
Second Floor

Microfiche, Classified & Periodicals
Second Floor

New York Newspapers on Microfilm
Level C

Reference Collection*
Second Floor

Ref Z Call Number and Supplementary Indexes
Level C

* For assistance, please contact a reference librarian (2nd Floor Reference Desk)

Non-Print Media Collection
Location Description

Swirbul Library
Access Services
First Floor

The Non-Print Media Collection, also located at the Access Services Desk, includes films, VHS and DVD video recordings, laser discs, software, audio cassettes, audio compact discs, filmstrips, slides, and CD-ROMS, many with accompanying guides. These materials are available for circulation to the Adelphi community.

Media resources are fully cataloged and can be accessed via ALICAT by subject or keyword. ALICAT also includes the item descriptions as well as the type of equipment that is required for that media. On-site playback or viewing can be arranged for individuals or groups.

Arrangements can be made to deliver and pick-up audio-visual equipment on campus. Assistance is also provided for use of microforms and reader-printers.

Reference Desk and Sager Lab
Location Description

Swirbul Library
Second Floor

 

Since 1966, Swirbul Library has served as a selective federal depository library. Adelphi has the most extensive collection on Long Island of documents issued by the Department of Housing and Urban Development, the Justice Department, and the Department of Veterans Affairs, as well as titles from many federal agencies. Current library holdings include almost 200,000 titles.

Selected government documents are cataloged and can be accessed through ALICAT. The Government Documents Collection, in both paper and microfiche formats, is located on the second floor. In addition, some government documents are included in the main reference and circulating collections. Reference assistance in the use of government documents is available at the Main Reference Desk.

The Reference Desk and Sager Lab are located on the second floor of Swirbul Library, adjacent to the Information Commons. Reference Librarians provide individualized reference assistance and help identify the appropriate books, databases, journal articles government documents, and other non-print materials necessary to complete research.

The Sager Lab computer lab is dedicated to online research for those who may or may not require assistance from a Reference Librarian.

* For assistance, please contact a reference librarian (2nd Floor Reference Desk)

Adelphi Theses
Location

Swirbul Library
Level C

Videocassettes/DVDs
Location

Swirbul Library
Access Services
First Floor

Music Scores
Location

Swirbul Library
First Floor

Folios (Oversized Volumes)
Location

Swirbul Library
Second Floor

Juvenile Books (PZ Call Number)
Location

Swirbul Library
Level 5S