Skip to main content

SWK 333: Practice II: Intervention In Generalist Social Work Practice: Getting Started

Students will further develop social work knowledge and skills, translating social work practice philosophy into sustainable, ethical social work. An emphasis is placed on effective social work intervention with individuals, groups, and communities. This

Research Tip

Tip

The resources on the following pages were selected because they are useful for social work research.  The resources include scholarly books, e-books, and article databases that contain academic peer reviewed journals relevant to Social Work research, and reliable websites from universities, the U. S. government and reliable organizations. 

  • Your faculty member only wants to see valid, reliable, authoritative, sources for your research.  That means sources written by experts or scholars who have credentials in the field that they are writing about.
  • Google and Wikipedia are usually not the best place to start.  Keep in mind Google will give you thousands of hits but many will not be academically sound. Wikipedia is great for an overall outline of a topic, but content may not be authoritative.  Google Scholar, however, can be most useful.

Assignment

 

Annotated Bibliography Assignment

Each student will develop an annotated bibliography on a topic related to practice. Choose a current social work topic that is important in your work with individuals, groups, families and communities. The bibliography should include between 6 to 8 peer reviewed journal articles and include both summative and critical analysis of the work considered.  No more than two books should be used for this paper.

The annotated bibliography should include an introductory statement that provides an overview of the paper as well as the topic itself. In addition, you should include a problem statement and indication of the significance of your review. That should be followed by entries for each article that include: the citation, summary and analysis of each article using the format described below.

Source Citation in APA format

Summary: Describes the purpose, significance, research questions, method(s), data source, findings/results of the research.  May also include limitations of the research identified by the authors. 

Analysis:  How do you see the document contributing to the research question at large (i.e. were the findings useful in addressing your question and how so etc.?); what additional limitations you might perceive in either research or practice; how does the article complement or contradict the findings from other sources, etc. 

The topic needs to be approved by the instructor and the paper should be 6 - 8 pages excluding title page. It must typed, double spaced and prepared in APA format.

 

 

 

Your Virtual Library

You can access Alicat, the library catalog, as well as our databases and journals from home. Just use your Adelphi universal login and password.

Search for Books from our Partner Libraries

If you can't find the item you want in Adelphi's collection, try searching in the ConnectNY search box below:

Coordinator of Instructional Services/Reference Librarian

Prof. Jason Byrd's picture
Prof. Jason Byrd
Contact:
208 Swirbul Library
jbyrd@adelphi.edu
516.877.3584