The Research Process

Retrieved from KeywordSuggest

Ten Steps to Writing Research Papers

1. Find your subject
2. Read a general article
3. Formulate a temporary thesis
4. Prepare a preliminary bibliography
5. Take notes
6. Develop note cards and outline
7. Write the first draft
8. Review the text
9. Double check citations
10. Finalize the format

Retrieved from James Patterson, Youtube

One of the key things to remember when selecting a topic is to choose a subject that is of interest to you. It makes the research process more enjoyable, and you will tend to produce a better product.

After choosing a topic, your next step is to locate introductory sources that provide basic background information about the subject. Finding background information at the beginning of your research is especially important if you are not familiar with the subject area or you are not certain as to how to approach your topic.

Here are useful places to get ideas and to do back ground research.  In general, do not use any encyclopedias as a source and citation for academic research.

Wikipedia : It is recommended to use Wikipedia to generate ideas and to get an overview of your topic, but do not cite it in your paper.

Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context : Includes pro and con viewpoints on a wide range of social issues, from terrorism and gun control to stem cell research.

Gale Virtual Reference Library : An online full-text collection of electronic reference books in a variety of subject areas.

Sage Knowledge : A searchable collection of over 90 encyclopedias and handbooks in the social and behavioral sciences, business, education and health, and history.

CQ Researcher : Includes original, comprehensive, and unbiased reporting and analysis on issues in the news.

Use these tools created by Adelphi University Librarians to assist and guide you in conducting research and writing your papers.

Research Overview : This guide will give you the basics of research--how to begin, narrow your topic, find keywords, find reference, print, and electronic books, find newspaper, magazine, and journal articles, how to evaluate sources, and how to create reference lists.

Research Tutorial : Do you have an assignment that asks you to write a research paper, but you are not sure where to begin? Our Research Tutorial will guide you through the basics.

Find nearly everything in the Libraries' collections with OneSearch:

Search by Title, Author, Subject, etc.   Alicat Classic   WorldCat    Need help?

Jumpstart your research using eReference and eBook Central