Skip to main content

Adelphi University Libraries: Archives and Special Collections

Welcome to University Archives and Special Collections

University Archives and Special Collections supports the mission and vision of the Adelphi University Libraries and the University by:

  • Serving as the primary repository for records and information relating to the history, organization and operations of Adelphi University.  
  • Providing materials whose aesthetic, intrinsic and research value make them unique teaching tools, inspiring curiosity and critical thinking.
  • Creating exhibits and public programs that support teaching, learning and scholarship at Adelphi and in the broader community.
  • Enhancing the reputation of the University by highlighting the achievements of Adelphi University students, faculty and alumni.
  • Promoting the University to the broader research community by providing access to physical materials and digital resources. 

About the University Archives

The University Archives collects, holds, preserves, and makes accessible the historical records of Adelphi University documenting the history of the University, its students, faculty and administration. These archival records encompass a wide variety of media and formats including documents, letters, reports, photographs, student newspapers, publications, memorabilia, theses and dissertations, video and audio tapes, and digital records of all kinds. 

Setting the Cornerstone

About Special Collections

Covering a wide variety of subjects, Special Collections include rare books, manuscripts, photographs, newspapers, pamphlets, architectural drawings, and other primary and secondary sources spanning 16th century to the present day. Areas of particular strength include the Spanish Civil War, Panama Canal history, dance and the performing arts, the American antislavery movement, modernist American literature, children's illustrated literature and the social, political and cultural history of Long Island. 

Notable Special Collections

  • William Cobbett (1763 - 1835), political journalist
  • William Hone (1780 - 1842), radical writer, reformer, and satirist
  • Christopher Morely (1890 - 1957), American editor and author
  • Ruth St. Denis (1879 - 1968), pioneering dancer and choreographer
  • Timothy L. Woodruff (1858 - 1913), New York Lieutenant Governor and first Adelphi Board of Trustees president

Stay Connected

William Hone Collection

Contact

Adelphi University Archives and Special Collections are located in Residence Hall A of the Garden City campus. Telephone: 516-877-3588.