Selected Books on Scholarly Writing
Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses by
Highly anticipated and fully updated Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses, Third Edition, is a practical and useful guide for nurses who need to bridge the gap from incomplete sentences to a published manuscript. Lead Author and Editor Cynthia Saver removes the fear of confusion most nurses have about the writing and publishing process. Along the way, 25 of nursing's top writing experts and decision makers share important insights to increase the likelihood that your manuscript is accepted for publication. In this book, you will learn how to: NEW Collaborate and coauthor with professionals in other healthcare disciplines NEW Navigate interprofessional continuing education (IPCE) NEW Write qualitative studies and report the different instruments used NEW Avoid being the victim of predatory publishing Turn your dissertation or capstone project into a published article Write a letter to the editor or write a book review Work with and manage contributors when writing a book Understand open access, SQUIRE, APA, and more Doody 5 Star Review "This book is easy to read and is useful for novice and experienced authors. It is an excellent resource and should be on the bookshelf of any nurse interested in publishing." -Michalene A King, PhD, RN, CNE(Robert Morris University) (c)Doody's Review Service(TM)
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1945157216Publication Date: 2017-05-01
The Bedford Handbook with 2020 APA Update by
Part 1 | A Process for Writing 1 Exploring, planning, and drafting 2 Building effective paragraphs 3 Revising, editing, and proofreading Part 2 | Academic Reading and Writing 4 Reading critically; writing analytically 5 Reading arguments 6 Writing arguments 7 Writing in the disciplines Part 3 | Clear Sentences 8 Active verbs 9 Parallelism 10 Needed words 11 Mixed constructions 12 Misplaced and dangling modifiers 13 Shifts 14 Emphasis 15 Variety Part 4 | Word Choice 16 Wordy sentences 17 Appropriate language 18 Exact words 19 Glossary of usage Part 5 | Grammatical Sentences 20 Sentence fragments 21 Run-on sentences 22 Subject-verb agreement 23 Pronoun-antecedent agreement 24 Pronoun reference 25 Pronoun case (I vs. me) 26 who vs. whom 27 Adjectives and adverbs 28 Standard English verb forms 29 Multilingual topics Part 6 | Punctuation 30 The comma 31 Unnecessary commas 32 The semicolon and the colon 33 The apostrophe 34 Quotation marks 35 End punctuation 36 Other punctuation marks Part 7 | Mechanics 37 Abbreviations, numbers, and italics 38 Spelling and the hyphen 39 Capitalization Part 8 | Grammar Basics 40 Parts of speech 41 Sentence patterns 42 Subordinate word groups 43 Sentence types Part 9 | Researched Writing 44 Thinking like a researcher; gathering sources 45 Managing information; taking notes responsibly 46 Evaluating sources 47 Writing a research paper 48 Citing sources; avoiding plagiarism 49 Integrating sources 50 Documenting sources in MLA style 51 MLA format; sample research paper 52 Documenting sources in APA style 53 APA format; sample research paper Answers to Exercises | Index | List of Grammatical Terms
Call Number: Swirbul Reserve PE1408 .H277 2020ISBN: 1319361080Publication Date: 2020-06-01
The Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation by
A revised and updated new edition of the bestselling workbook and grammar guide The Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation is a concise, entertaining workbook and guide to English grammar, punctuation, and usage. This user-friendly resource includes simple explanations of grammar, punctuation, and usage; scores of helpful examples; dozens of reproducible worksheets; and pre- and post-tests to help teach grammar to students of all ages. Appropriate for virtually any age range, this authoritative guide makes learning English grammar and usage simple and fun. This updated Eleventh Edition reflects the latest updates to English usage and grammar and features a fully revised two-color design and lay-flat binding for easy photocopying. Clear and concise, easy-to-follow, offering "just the facts" Fully updated to reflect the latest rules in grammar and usage along with new quizzes Ideal for students from seventh grade through adulthood in the US and abroad For anyone who wants to understand the major rules and subtle guidelines of English grammar and usage, The Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation offers comprehensive, straightforward instruction.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781118785560Publication Date: 2014-02-10
Grant Writing Handbook for Nurses and Health Professionals, Third Edition by
This accessible, hands-on text, for new grant writers and seasoned health researchers, educators, and clinicians alike, illuminates the process of writing a persuasive request for funding from start to finish. Packed with practical tips for dealing with common pitfalls besieging grant seekers, the text progresses step by step from establishing the need for the grant through disseminating grant findings. This third edition is distinguished by key information about newer grant mechanisms and a fresh focus for foundation and corporate grants. It also includes updates on electronic submissions and web resources. Useful supporting features include examples and underlying principles for each guideline, examples of grants and specific elements that lend themselves to the development of PowerPoint slides for traditional or online classroom use, real-life examples from actual grant applications, and links to online resources to support searches for grant funders and websites supporting grant applications. Armed with savvy tips and advice from the authors--an experienced grant writer, grant reviewer, and grant consultant--readers will be able to write a persuasive grant with ease. NEW TO THE THIRD EDITION: Top-notch grant writing guidance for all health professionalsInformation about newer grant mechanisms emphasizing community-based and patient-centered outcomes research grantsFoundation and corporate grants focusing on population health, personalized health, and interprofessional team grants that include community collaborations and corporate partnershipsImportant information on the Patient-Centered Research InstituteGuidance on how to involve stakeholders and communities in study design and implementationUpdates on electronic submissions and web resourcesNew coauthor who is a successful PCORI awardeeInstructor's PowerPoint slides KEY FEATURES: Describes the process of writing a persuasive request for funding from start to finishDelivers practical tips from experienced authors for dealing with common pitfalls and difficultiesIncludes examples and underlying principles for each guidelineProvides real-life examples from actual grant applicationsHelps readers to apply principles for selling and justifying the grant to their own proposals
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0826141447Publication Date: 2018-03-15
The Handbook of Scholarly Writing and Publishing by
The Handbook of Scholarly Writing and Publishing is a groundbreaking resource that offers emerging and experienced scholars from all disciplines a comprehensive review of the essential elements needed to craft scholarly papers and other writing suitable for submission to academic journals. The authors discuss the components of different types of manuscripts, explain the submission process, and offer readers suggestions for working with editors and coauthors, dealing with rejection, and rewriting and resubmitting their work. They include advice for developing quality writing skills, outline the fundamentals of a good review, and offer guidance for becoming an excellent manuscript reviewer. "One of those rare books that will teach you something new every time you pick it up. It belongs on the desks of emerging scholars and writing professors everywhere."--Nancy L. Zimpher, chancellor, The State University of New York "Rocco and Hatcher have done every scholar, doctoral student, and committee chair a huge favor by putting this book together. Now in one place we can find resources to help graduate students and scholars get over their writing blocks and fear of writing, and learn how to write successfully."--Alan L. Carsrud, Loretta Rogers Chair of Entrepreneurship Research, Ryerson University, and associate editor, Journal of Small Business Management "This handbook performs a valuable service by collecting the wisdom of scholars from different disciplines and countries and offering publishing guidance that is both rigorous and systematic. Everyone who writes for scholarly publication will benefit from the insights provided by this book."--Tom Radko, editor, Journal of Scholarly Publishing
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780470949184Publication Date: 2011-02-09
How to Publish in Biomedicine by
This book is designed to help scientists get their biomedical papers published. It is intended to answer the commonest questions about scientific writing, and to help scientists avoid the most frequent problems and pitfalls.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1138443093Publication Date: 2017-07-11
A Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Publishing a Dissertation or DNP Project by
As a newly minted PhD or DNP, you've completed your dissertation or scholarly project. Congratulations! Wondering whether or how to publish? Confused about the publication process? Feeling overwhelmed? You are not alone. A Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Publishing a Dissertation or DNP Project is a concise guide to preparing and polishing your work for publication. In a straightforward, conversational tone, author Karen Roush offers encouragement as well as information on everything from honing essential writing skills to choosing a publisher to submitting your manuscript-and all the steps in between. This book will help you navigate the world of scholarly publishing with less frustration-and more confidence-on the way to disseminating your research and knowledge. Book jacket.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781948057370Publication Date: 2019-08-01
A Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Writing a Dissertation or Scholarly Project by
Feeling overwhelmed by the mere thought of writing your dissertation or scholarly project? Wondering how to begin and where to find the time? You are not alone. Earning your advanced degree is an extraordinary accomplishment, but completing those final stages can be a daunting task. A Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Writing a Dissertation or Scholarly Project, Second Edition, is a straightforward how-to guide. This book is intentionally concise because let's be honest, the last thing a busy candidate needs is another unwieldy, doorstop-sized book. Packed with practical steps and tools, this fully updated second edition-which includes a new chapter on the various formate for manuscript dissertations-will help you plan, document, organize, and write your dissertation or scholarly project. Don't go it alone; let author and fellow dissertation survivor Karen Roush help you get from square one to Done. Book jacket.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781948057127Publication Date: 2018-10-01
Proposal Writing for Nursing Capstones and Clinical Projects by
While advanced practice nursing students generally have good clinical skills, many lack the clinical scholarship capabilities that are required for writing scholarly proposals. The only resource of its kind, this is a practical guide for MSN project students and DNP capstone students who must plan and organize their clinical projects into quality proposals. It provides the requisite guidelines for integrating research and best evidence with clearly communicated professional objectives. The book's "how-to" approach helps to demystify the organization and packaging of advanced practice clinical projects into tight proposals. The text includes an overview of basic scholarly approaches required for professional communication that support a diverse array of clinical project topics. Students interact with the content via ongoing prompts and questions that guide them in the kind of reflective writing that facilitates greater understanding of their projects and subsequent proposals. Chapters are organized into three broad sections with a logical flow toward completion of planning, writing, and communicating a project proposal. Each chapter is consistently organized to include objectives, tips for making proposals concise yet complete, and tools for self-assessment. Also included are key point summaries, reflective questions, and writing prompts. Additionally, the book provides plentiful checklists, five exercises that jump-start the process, examples of good writing, and additional resources for further study. Key Features: Provides topflight guidance in proposal writing for nursing capstones and clinical projects Details parameters for integrating scholarship with clearly communicated professional objectives Contains numerous writing prompts and questions that guide students in reflective scholarly writing Includes a project triangle framework, exercises to jump-start the process, examples of good writing, reflective questions, and tools for self-assessment Offers helpful tips for making proposals concise yet complete
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780826108630Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th Ed. by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process-from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019-10-01
The Quick Fix Guide to Academic Writing by
Whether you're writing a paper, essay, assignment, or dissertation, this short and punchy book helps you improve your writing skills through minimal effort. Providing you with a quick set of writing rules to follow, this tried and tested guide uses a unique and easy to follow grid-based system. Packed with advice on understanding (big and little) common errors made in academic writing, it helps you identify patterns in your own writing and demonstrates how to reshape or re-evaluate them - and raise your writing game in any academic context. How-to tutorials include: Synthesizing and critiquing literature - and using your coding sheet to develop critical arguments Shaping abstracts, introductions, discussions, and conclusions - to improve the logic and structure of your writing Applying lessons-learned to future projects, whatever format of academic writing. Save time and improve your grades, with this essential quick fix guide! The Student Success series are essential guides for students of all levels. From how to think critically and write great essays to planning your dream career, the Student Success series helps you study smarter and get the best from your time at university.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1526405881Publication Date: 2018-01-02
What Every Medical Writer Needs to Know by
This book presents must-know facts generally not covered in "How To" books about medical writing. Every medical writer, whether a beginner or veteran, needs answers to questions many might not even know to ask. How does your personality type influence your writing behavior, and what can you do to make writing easier for you? What should you ask before agreeing to co-author an article for publication or write a book chapter? What are some of the current issues regarding copyright and plagiarism that authors may face? What has research discovered about the quotations and references found in journal articles? What do you need to know about open access journals and predatory publishers? Dr. Taylor tells some surprising truths about medical publishing, including possible sources of peer review bias and some alarming influences on what ends up in print. He also relates little-known stories about renowned medical writers such as Sir William Osler, William Carlos Williams and Elisabeth Kübler-Ross and the origins of some of medicine's classic publications. What Every Medical Writer Needs to Know provides information vital for every health care professional who aspires to write for others to read: academicians and practicing physicians; nurses, nurse practitioners and physician assistants; and professional medical and scientific writers.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 3319202634Publication Date: 2015-09-11
Writing a Biomedical Research Paper by
All of us in biomedicine understand the urgency of getting experimental results into print as quickly as possible. Yet this critical step in the cascade from research conception to publication receives almost no attention in our formal training. It is as if we have been put to sea without a compass. Our collective failure to achieve widespread literacy in our own language - Biomedical Language - seriously impedes the important process of d- seminating new biomedical knowledge and thereby improving the human condition. It is also a significant personal concern for researchers and clinicians in the highly competitive, publish-or-perish environment of c- temporary academia. Of course, if we are clever or lucky enough to come up with that Nobel Prize-winning discovery, great science will carry the day and we are likely to get published even if our writing is fairly horrid. But most of us who publish are "bread-and-butter" scientists. We compete for space in journals which may only accept 10% or 20% of the submissions that they receive each year. For us, convincing, engaging writing will make the difference between being published or rejected, or at least it will make the difference between being published on ? rst submission or having to go through a number of revisions (or journals). None of this is to propose that good writing can make a silk purse out of a sow's ear. Scienti? c content is the sine qua non of biomedical writing.
Call Number: Swirbul Library Reference R119 .B83 2009ISBN: 9784431880363Publication Date: 2009-01-08
Writing for Publication in Nursing by
Designated a Doody's Core Title "Writing for publication is essential for disseminating nursing knowledge, and this book will surely prepare budding authors and serve as a resource for experienced authors. It is a great reference for authors at all levels." Score: 100, Five Stars --Doody's Medical Reviews This in-depth resource on writing for nurses--clinicians, graduate students, researchers, and faculty--guides users through the entire process of writing evidence-based research papers and journal articles, disseminating clinical project findings and innovations, and preparing manuscripts for publication. The completely updated fourth edition expands the content on conducting and writing systematic, integrative, and literature reviews; disseminating evidence and writing papers on clinical topics; and reporting quality-improvement studies. It provides new examples of excellent writing from a varied selection of nursing journals. Woven throughout is an explanation of current writing guidelines for research such as CONSORT and PRISMA. Also included are electronic versions of useful forms and updated web resources relevant to each chapter. Chapters feature helpful tables, figures, and illustrations; learner exercises to guide development of competencies; and discussion topics designed to address the variety of challenges posed when writing for publication. The print version of the book includes searchable digital access to entire contents. New to the Fourth Edition: Updated chapters and new examples from a wide variety of nursing journalsExpanded content on conducting and writing systematic, integrative, and literature reviewsGuidelines for reporting different types of researchCriteria for evaluating the quality of a nursing journal and avoiding predatory journalsExamination of open-access journal marketsStrategies for interprofessional collaborationUpdated content on quality-improvement reportingTips to avoid plagiarismGuidance on writing case studies, case reports, policy papers, and articlesExpanded discussion and examples of searchable databasesElectronic versions of useful formsUpdated web resources in each chapter and in an appendix Key Features: Takes the reader step by step through the entire process of writing for publicationCovers conducting and writing a literature review and writing research, review, quality-improvement, evidencebased practice, and clinical practice articlesDelivers strategies for writing all types of journal articles, chapters, books, and other forms of writingIncludes tips for turning dissertations, DNP projects, and course assignments into manuscriptsDetails the submission, editorial review, and publication processesIncludes a module for online courses in each chapterIncludes Instructor's Manual, PowerPoints, and sample syllabus
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0826147011Publication Date: 2018-06-01
Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare by
Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare is an invaluable guide to 'getting it right', focusing on all aspects of writing for publication. It will help the reader to develop skills in writing articles, book reviews and other forms of publications, and can also be used as an aide-mémoire for editors and journal or book reviewers. It explores: How to get started How to write various forms of publication including abstracts, papers, book reviews, journal articles and books Good practice in reviewing The editorial process Ethical and legal aspects of publishing Offering guidance, tips, examples and activities, this practical how-to book written by experts in the field is essential reading for all nurses and healthcare professionals.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780470657829Publication Date: 2012-10-15
Writing Winning Proposals for Nurses and Other Health Care Professionals by
FACILITATES WRITING SUCCESSFUL PROPOSALS OF SUBSTANCE, CLARITY, AND CONVICTION With an in-depth focus on writing with substance, clarity, and conviction, this comprehensive resource takes the reader step by step through the entire process of writing and submitting a successful proposal. Written by preeminent authors and educators with extensive experience in teaching proposal and grant writing to nurses and other health care professionals, the book discusses how to create proposals for dissertations, capstone projects, research funding, fellowships, and career development awards, as well as for educational training, translational research, evidence-based practice, and demonstration projects. Using a clear, commonsense approach, it delineates the foundations and underlying structure of a well-written proposal and then focuses on the specific elements required for each different type of proposal. The book provides readers with the tools to help them think through what they want to do and describe it clearly and succinctly√>=avoiding unnecessary information that does not support the intent of their proposal. It discusses selecting a problem, developing an argument, and describing the aims of the project; showing the significance of the problem and describing the conceptualization and innovative aspects of the work; detailing the approach or research design and methods; composing the title and abstract; describing budgetary considerations; and preparing ancillary materials. The book also includes worksheets to help readers personalize the information for their particular project. Instructions on how to synthesize the relevant literature for a study is presented in helpful case examples. The book also addresses the processes of writing and submitting a grant, its review, and possible resubmission. It will be highly useful as a text in master's-level, DNP, and PhD research courses; doctoral seminars, for instructors who advise students on proposal development; and for practitioners who are interested in developing evidence-based practice. KEY FEATURES: Provides abundant tools for writing proposals of substance, clarity, and conviction Takes readers step by step through the process of writing a great variety of proposals Facilitates clear thinking and to-the-point writing Includes worksheets to help readers personalize information for their particular project Provides formats required for all federal grant proposals About the Authors: Sandra G. Funk, PhD, FAAN, is a professor emerita of the School of Nursing at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She has taught research methods, statistics, and grant writing to master's and doctoral students, postdoctoral fellows, visiting scholars, and faculty, and co-teaches with Elizabeth M. Tornquist a program on grant writing. As associate dean for Research and director of the Research Support Center for many years, Dr. Funk led the school's research mission and mentored faculty on design, measurement, proposal development, and research management. She also consults with other universities in these areas. She has served as principal investigator or co-investigator on over $6 million in research funding and served as a reviewer for the National Institutes of Health and other federal agencies for over a decade. Her research interests, grants, and publications, which number over 100, focus on various aspects of applied measurement and research utilization and facilitation. Elizabeth M. Tornquist, MA, FAAN, has been a faculty member of the Schools of Nursing and Public Health at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and is currently a visiting lecturer at the College of Nursing, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences. She has taught scientific writing for nearly 40 years and has conducted numerous workshops for university faculty, health
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780826122728Publication Date: 2015-06-01
