Digital Learning Objects
Icons Used in This Guide
video online game
text/tables
flash
CLIP tutorials 
Incorporating Sources
Incorporating Sources
CONTENT:learn how to incorporate sources into their college or university research papers. They will be able to effectively structure sources, include analysis and use sources to support an argument
MEDIUM/TIME: captivate video (6:00)
ASSESSMENT: quiz and key --->
NOTES:. students will learn to use the sources within the research paper effectively
WHY WE LIKE IT: CLIP; students use the free Internet and this will give them criteria to help evaluate search results
Use Information Effectively
Use Information Effectively
CONTENT: lesson with Problem, Expected Outcomes, Methods with embedded videos and exercises, Assessment
MEDIUM/TIME: 2 videos (5:15, 8:56), self-paced assessment
ASSESSMENT: Bruin Success with Less Stress tutorial with questions/answers
NOTES: UCLA tutorial; just have student ignore UCLA specific references
WHY WE LIKE IT: fun assessment with lasting impact
How to Write an Annotated Bibliography
How to Write an Annotated Bibliography
CONTENT: how to write an annotated bibliography (and how an annotated bibliography might be useful to your research)
MEDIUM/TIME: screen-cast w/audio (5:34)
ASSESSMENT: 5 true-false questions embedded
NOTES: University of Maryland. Transcript available
WHY WE LIKE IT: clear instructions with examples showing article annotations
How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography
How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography
CONTENT: preparing annotations of books, articles; annotations vs. abstracts, examples
MEDIUM/TIME: text only
ASSESSMENT: none
NOTES: Cornell University. Points out the difference (in appearance) between APA and MLA
WHY WE LIKE IT: well-regarded site, resource that is frequently linked to on reading/writing sites, clear examples
Annotated Bibliography Samples
Annotated Bibliography Samples
CONTENT: information about and examples of annotated bibliographies in MLA, APA and Chicago Manual of Style
MEDIUM/TIME: text only
ASSESSMENT: none
NOTES: Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab). Provides examples in each of three citation formats: APA, MLA and Chicago
WHY WE LIKE IT: well regarded site; though not interactive, this page is still useful
Using Google Scholar
Using Google Scholar
CONTENT: Google Scholar can help identify scholarly journal article citations, some with link to library databases
MEDIUM: capitvate video (7:00)
ASSESSMENT: quiz and key -->
NOTES: learn the unique and valuable features of Google Scholar
WHY WE LIKE IT: CLIP; students should know how to use Google Scholar