Why Background Information?
Background Information
When you start a research task, begin with some authoritative Background Research. Why?
- To find key concepts, issues, names, vocabulary about your topic--these are your starting keywords
Generating Keywords
Generating Search Terms
Finding keywords in background research to develop a Search Strategy.
Good, short, video on brainstorming (4:25)
Databases for Background Research
Databases for Background Reference & eReference Books
from Library Home Page
eReference and general print reference...
- Will point to narrower areas of the subject
- Will provide search terms and keywords
- Will have bibliographies to lead to additional information and articles
Subject specific reference resources, both in print and as ebooks.
some suggested eReference sources:
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryAn online full text collection of electronic reference books in a variety of subject areas
- Sage Reference OnlineA searchable collection of over 90 encyclopedias and handbooks in the social and behavioral sciences, business, education and health, and history.
- Opposing Viewpoints in ContextIncludes pro and con viewpoints on a wide range of social issues, from terrorism and gun control to stem cell research.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window CQ Researcher is a full-text database of reports by professional researchers on contemporary issues. These reports are well researched and provide background and futuristic information. These reports include statistical charts, maps and a bibliography of sources.
This link opens in a new window
Reference Sources for Caribbean Studies
Selected Titles for Background Research
Books & eBooks
Encyclopedia of Global Studies [eBook] by Call Number: JZ1318 .E62 2012ebISBN: 9781412964296Publication Date: 2012
Introduction to International and Global Studies [eBook] by Call Number: JZ1318 .S597 2011ebISBN: 9780807871751Publication Date: 2011
When People Come First: critical studies in global health [eBook] by Call Number: RA441 .W44 2013ebISBN: 9781400846801Publication Date: 2013
eBrary
eBrary
Good place to start: eBrary. An ebook collection of more than 70,000 covering all topics.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window An ebook collection of more than 150,000 multidisciplinary titles in business, humanities, life and physical sciences, medicine and health, information technology, engineering, social sciences, public policy, education, and general reference.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
