Library Banner
Library Guides - Browse All Guides
Browse guides alphabetically, by subject, or by librarian


  Search: 
 
Jump To:  A | B | C | E | F | G | H | I | K | L | M | N | P | Q | R | S | T | U | W | Z

A
ACG 265 Criminal Justice Planning and Research
by Eloise Bellard - Last Updated Apr 1, 2015
(Prof Johnson)
ACG 455 Contemporary Developments in Criminal Justice
by Eloise Bellard - Last Updated Feb 10, 2014
Guide provides resources that focus on the role of gender, race and class in constructing crime and responses to crime.
Action Research - Master's Seminar in TESOL
by Amrita Madray - Last Updated Jun 22, 2015
This guide is designed to provide students with an introduction to action research within the field of education. Students using this guide will learn about the action research and the research process overall.
African & Black Studies
by Rachel Isaac-Menard - Last Updated Sep 10, 2014
Research resources fo African American/Black Studies and African Studies
American Indian Stories & Study
by Stan Bogdanov, Amrita Madray - Last Updated May 27, 2014
For Elementary Students and Educators of Elementary Students!
ANT 223 New World Archaeology
by Eloise Bellard, Rachel Isaac-Menard - Last Updated Nov 13, 2014
Resources appropriate for ANT 223
ANT 227 Peoples of the North
by Eloise Bellard, Rachel Isaac-Menard - Last Updated Nov 13, 2014
Use this for resources during ANT 227
ANT 280 "Global Medicine: Cross-Cultural Search for Cures'
by Rachel Isaac-Menard - Last Updated Feb 25, 2014
Useful resources for ANT 280 "Global Medicine: Cross-Cultural Search for Cures'
Anthropology
by Rachel Isaac-Menard - Last Updated Nov 13, 2014
General Library Resources for Anthropology Students.
APA & MLA: Citing & Incorporating Sources
by Eloise Bellard, Jim Mcaleese, Bianca Rivera - Last Updated Apr 21, 2015
Why, when, and how to cite resources using APA, MLA, and Chicago/Turabian formats.
Art Exhibitions: It's Show Time!
by Elayne Gardstein - Last Updated Jun 10, 2015
Use this guide to research and learn more about art exhibitions--and have fun!
Art Research & Resources
by Elayne Gardstein - Last Updated Jun 10, 2015
This guide will give you resources and strategies for art research.
Article Linker
by Lois O'Neill - Last Updated Sep 2, 2012
Find how to get the full text article from database search results.
B
Business Citation Analysis and Scholarly Impact
by Debbi Smith - Last Updated Jan 16, 2015
Citation analysis studies the impact and assumed quality of an article, journal or author based on the number of times articles or authors have been cited by others, and the impact and ranking of the associated journals in that field.
Business Research at the Adelphi University Libraries
by Debbi Smith - Last Updated Mar 18, 2015
This guide will help you find a wide range of business related resources available for you at Adelphi University Libraries, both online and in print.
C
Caribbean Studies
by Rachel Isaac-Menard - Last Updated Sep 10, 2014
CASAC Certification
by Alys Grey, Kristin Hart - Last Updated Jan 23, 2015
Celebrating Black History Month
by Mary Josenhans, Amrita Madray - Last Updated May 13, 2015
The children's books contained in this Libguide are either books written by African-Americans or have African-Americans as their subject. Included are websites and biographies dealing with the history that has brought us Black History Month.
Children's Books - African American Authors
by Mary Josenhans, Amrita Madray - Last Updated May 21, 2014
The books listed in this Libguide are all by African American authors and are available in the Swirbul Library.
Controversial Issues
by Eloise Bellard, Jim Mcaleese, Bianca Rivera - Last Updated Apr 21, 2015
Find Two (or more!) Sides of an Issue
Copyright and Fair Use for Faculty
by Debbi Smith - Last Updated Feb 16, 2015
Background of copyright and fair use for educators, with an emphasis on FAQs for using library and other resources in compliance with copyright law. This site is not legal advice, and the authors are not legal counsel to the university.
CSE Manual for Scientific Style and Format
by Aditi Bandyopadhyay - Last Updated Jun 16, 2015
How to document scientific writing using the CSE Manual
Curriculum Materials Center
by Amrita Madray - Last Updated Jun 22, 2015
E
eBrary: accessing & using Adelphi's collection of electronic books
by Lois O'Neill - Last Updated Jun 17, 2015
Accessing & using Adelphi's largest collection of electronic books
Ebsco's Resources via your Mobile Devices
by Mary Josenhans, Amrita Madray - Last Updated Jun 18, 2015
Search, Save and Email EBSCO resources conveniently anytime and anywhere with your mobile device -- smartphone (iPhone, Android, iPad, & iPod)
ECS 800 Masters Seminar In Early Childhood Special Education: Research And Advocacy
by Amrita Madray - Last Updated Jun 22, 2015
This guide is to assist you in finding peer-reviewed articles to support your grant project assignment and to provide an overview of other relevant resources.
EDL 533 Computer Based Technology in Education
by Amrita Madray - Last Updated Jun 22, 2015
This guide is created to provide research assistance using library and web resources.
EDL 554 Research & Evaluation in Schools
by Amrita Madray - Last Updated Jun 22, 2015
This guide will provide students with an introduction to action research and the research process within the field of education.
EDL 590 Law, Ethics and Technology
by Eloise Bellard, Amrita Madray - Last Updated Apr 21, 2015
This guide will help students select and research a problem or issue in education relevant to school law for their final assignment.
EDL 666: (School) Leadership
by Amrita Madray - Last Updated Jun 22, 2015
EDT 610 Distance Learning, Blended Classes, and Virtual Schools
by Amrita Madray, Debbi Smith - Last Updated Jun 22, 2015
Providing resources to complement distance and blended learning in the K-12 setting.
EDUCATIONAL JOURNALS AT ADELPHI UNIVERSITY
by Mary Josenhans - Last Updated Jun 17, 2015
This libguide contains a list of the journals at Adelphi that focus on education. A direct link to the journal can be accessed by clicking the icon to the left of the journal's title. There you can find its area of concentration.
Educators & Students with Learning Disabilities
by Jim Mcaleese, Bianca Rivera - Last Updated Apr 20, 2015
Useful for elementary and secondary administrators, librarians, classroom teachers, and parents and students with Learning Disabilities
EEC 560 Managing Inclusive Environments
by Amrita Madray - Last Updated Jun 22, 2015
This guide is to find resources pertaining to Special Educaiton
EEC 705 Team Collaboration
by Amrita Madray - Last Updated Jun 22, 2015
This guide includes resources for special education teachers.
Emergency Management
by Lois O'Neill - Last Updated Jun 17, 2015
Empirical Research Articles Versus Literature Review Articles
by April Grey - Last Updated Apr 6, 2015
A library guide for identifying empirical research and literature review articles. April Grey 4/6/2015
ENG 107 (Honors) - Professor Craig
by Eloise Bellard - Last Updated Apr 21, 2015
Guide to assist student work on their research assignment
ENV 410 Environmental Toxicology and Public Health
by Aditi Bandyopadhyay - Last Updated Jun 16, 2015
This course examines the basic concepts of environmental toxicology including uptake mechanisms, interactions, and elimination of toxic substances. Students will understand how toxic substances impact the aquatic and terrestrial environments.
ENV 570 Principles of Toxicology
by Aditi Bandyopadhyay - Last Updated Jun 16, 2015
EST 304 Community, Schools, and Society
by Eloise Bellard - Last Updated Aug 28, 2013
(Prof. Thornburg) This guide will help you find scholarly resources at Adelphi Libraries for your assignment.
Evaluating Sources
by Eloise Bellard, Jim Mcaleese - Last Updated Apr 21, 2015
Evaluating sources for authority, currency, accuracy, coverage, purpose, and intended audience.
Evidence-Based Research
by Eloise Bellard - Last Updated Apr 21, 2015
F
FAQs
by Jim Mcaleese, Lois O'Neill, Bianca Rivera - Last Updated Apr 20, 2015
Borrowing, renewing, interlibrary loan, wireless network, printing, services, more!
Find an Article from a Citation ("Required Reading List")
by Eloise Bellard, Jim Mcaleese, Bianca Rivera - Last Updated Apr 20, 2015
Use this when your professor gives you a list of required course readings to find the articles or when you have a citation of an article.
Find Articles
by Jim Mcaleese, Bianca Rivera - Last Updated Apr 20, 2015
How to use databases to find articles
Free K12 Teacher Resources
by Eloise Bellard, Jim Mcaleese, Bianca Rivera - Last Updated Apr 20, 2015
Free resources for the K12 teachers!
FYS Social Movements, Sports, & Gangs
by Rachel Isaac-Menard - Last Updated Jan 9, 2014
FYS 02 Thornburg, Bush, Granley
G
Genealogical Resources
by Brian Mcdonald, David Ranzan - Last Updated Mar 13, 2015
Global Studies
by Rachel Isaac-Menard - Last Updated Sep 10, 2014
For Levermore Global Scholars and any global or international studies
Google Scholar
by Jim Mcaleese, Bianca Rivera - Last Updated Apr 21, 2015
When, how, and why you should use Google Scholar for academic research
H
Health Statistics
by Lois O'Neill - Last Updated Nov 5, 2014
Find health statistics nationally, by state, and by county.
HED 602: Research and Technology in Health Education (Thornburg)
by Amrita Madray - Last Updated Jun 22, 2015
This guide is designed to help you find research articles using your Library Databases, Google Scholar and other related information for your topics.
History at Adelphi
by Robert Weiss - Last Updated Apr 10, 2015
How to . . .
by Eloise Bellard, Jim Mcaleese - Last Updated Apr 6, 2015
Use these handy links to answer our most commonly asked questions!
I
ILL -- InterLibrary Loans
by Jim Mcaleese, Bianca Rivera - Last Updated Apr 20, 2015
How to request a book or article from another library
Information Literacy Tutorial
by Stan Bogdanov - Last Updated Aug 21, 2013
Introduction to Sociology
by Eloise Bellard - Last Updated Apr 22, 2015
sociology
K
K-3: COMMON CORE SUBJECTS AND THE BOOKS THAT SUPPORT THEM
by Mary Josenhans - Last Updated Jun 15, 2015
There are many books are available that will help to support the teaching of the Common Core subjects. This libguide will give you a sampling of these books for grades K-3 according to subject. Most are not available at Adelphi's library.
L
Literary Criticism
by Eloise Bellard - Last Updated Apr 21, 2015
Literary Criticism
by Eloise Bellard - Last Updated Nov 7, 2013
This guide is designed to assist users locate scholarly information about authors and their works.
M
Mathematics for Managers - Healthcare Informatics M.S. Program
by Lois O'Neill - Last Updated Nov 5, 2014
Using Adelphi Library resources to find the information you need.
Music & Performing Arts Research & Resources
by Gary Cantrell - Last Updated Jun 24, 2015
This guide will give you special resources and strategies for Music and Performing Arts research.
N
Nursing Course Handouts
by Lois O'Neill - Last Updated Mar 14, 2015
This libguide contains handouts to be used in nursing courses.
Nursing Research & Resources
by Lois O'Neill - Last Updated Jan 21, 2015
One stop shop for all the research resources you will need during your time at AU in the Nursing program.
Nutrition Resources - Master of Science program: a guide to using library resources
by Lois O'Neill - Last Updated Aug 27, 2014
Adelphi University College of Nursing and Public Health
P
Philosophy Resources
by Kimberly Abrams - Last Updated Oct 21, 2014
This guide serves as a starting point for using Philosophy resources at Adelphi.
POL 212 Environment and Politics
by Eloise Bellard - Last Updated Jan 9, 2014
POL 429 Public Policy Seminar
by Eloise Bellard - Last Updated Apr 22, 2015
POL 429
Positive Psychology
by April Grey - Last Updated Mar 3, 2015
Positive psychology is "the study of the processes and conditions that contribute to optimal functioning and flourishing in human beings... positive experiences, positive traits, positive communities...positive emotions." (ENCY OF SOCIAL PSYCHOLOGY)
Preventing Plagiarism: Academic Honesty
by Amrita Madray - Last Updated Jun 16, 2015
The goal of this guide is to help you understand plagiarism, suggest steps to avoid it, and shows the importance of giving credit by citing sources when quoting, paraphrasing, or summarizing from sources used.
Primary Sources
by Elayne Gardstein, Brian Mcdonald, David Ranzan - Last Updated Mar 13, 2015
Resources for Primary Source materials.
Psychology Resources
by April Grey - Last Updated Mar 12, 2015
This is a guide to the use of psychology resources at Adelphi Libraries
Psychology Tests and Measures
by Stan Bogdanov, Lois O'Neill - Last Updated Mar 15, 2013
Q
Qualitative & Quantitative Research Using CINAHL
by Lois O'Neill - Last Updated Sep 13, 2013
CINAHL stands for the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature and is one of the most comprehensive resources for nursing and allied health.
R
RefWorks
by Lois O'Neill, Bianca Rivera - Last Updated Nov 27, 2013
Provided courtesy of the University of Central Florida Libraries
Research Overview
by Eloise Bellard, Jim Mcaleese, Bianca Rivera - Last Updated Apr 21, 2015
This guide will give you the basics of research--how to begin, narrow your topic, find keywords, find reference, print, and electronic books, find newspaper, magazine, and journal articles, how to evaluate sources, and how to create reference lists.
RSS Feeds & Email Alerts for Research
by Stan Bogdanov - Last Updated Aug 27, 2012
This tutorial will teach you how to idetify and use RSS Feeds and E-Mail Alerts to automatically get up-to-date results from your database searches.
S
Scholarly Journals
by Eloise Bellard, Jim Mcaleese, Bianca Rivera - Last Updated Apr 21, 2015
Distinguish the differences in types of periodicals, understand the peer-review process, and how to understand an empirical article.
SOC 225 Sociology of the Family
by Eloise Bellard - Last Updated Apr 22, 2015
SOC 240 Sociology of Violence
by Eloise Bellard - Last Updated Apr 22, 2015
SOC 261 Crime and Punishment
by Eloise Bellard - Last Updated Oct 14, 2014
(Prof Johnson)
SOC 277 Law and Social Inequality
by Eloise Bellard - Last Updated Nov 27, 2013
SOC 278 Sexuality & School Violence
by Eloise Bellard - Last Updated Apr 22, 2015
Soc 288 Writing in the Disciplines
by Eloise Bellard - Last Updated Apr 29, 2015
SOC 301 Qualitative Research Methods: Sociology
by Eloise Bellard - Last Updated Apr 29, 2015
Sociology 301
SOC 302 Quantitative Research
by Eloise Bellard - Last Updated Apr 21, 2015
The guide provides resources, videos, guides and other tools helpul to students who need to conduct a literature review for their quantitative research project.
SOC 341 Gender Issues in Criminal Justice
by Eloise Bellard - Last Updated Apr 29, 2015
This guide explores how gender relates to crime, criminal justice, and criminology, with specific problems, questions, and issues;
SOC 380 Social Change
by Eloise Bellard, Rachel Isaac-Menard - Last Updated Sep 10, 2014
Research sources useful for SOC 380 classes
SOC Race and Crime in the United States- 288-005
by Eloise Bellard - Last Updated Apr 29, 2015
The Guide is designed to help students find academic resources relevant to the course such as historical and contemporary theoretical perspectives advanced by sociologist and criminologists.
Social Work 306
by Kristin Hart - Last Updated Sep 30, 2014
Social Work 333
by Alys Grey, Kristin Hart, Jim Mcaleese - Last Updated Sep 30, 2014
Social work 500
by Alys Grey, Kristin Hart, Jim Mcaleese - Last Updated Oct 4, 2014
Your guide to resources for Issues in Social Welfare 1: History and Philosophy of Social Welfare
Social Work 501
by Kristin Hart - Last Updated Apr 9, 2015
Social Work 510 Research
by Eloise Bellard - Last Updated May 6, 2015
Social work 511
by Alys Grey, Kristin Hart, Jim Mcaleese - Last Updated Apr 23, 2015
Social Work 722
by Alys Grey, Kristin Hart, Jim Mcaleese - Last Updated Oct 7, 2014
Resource guide for Social Work 722: Organizations context for professional practice
Social Work Doctoral Students Orientation
by Eloise Bellard - Last Updated Mar 30, 2015
This guide will help you learn about the library services and resources available for research at Adelphi libraries.
Social Work Research II
by Eloise Bellard - Last Updated May 6, 2015
Social Work Resources (ROLE)
by Eloise Bellard - Last Updated Apr 21, 2015
Guide for Social Work Resources ROLE and research for SWK 500 and SWK 510
SWK 498/738 Social Work & The Law
by Eloise Bellard - Last Updated May 6, 2015
Social Work 498/738
SWK 736 Contemporary Social Work: An Integrative Approach
by Eloise Bellard - Last Updated May 6, 2015
This guide is to be used in conjunction with the Capstone research papers required in this course. The main page for each tab highlights research and search tips that direct student to appropriate resources and how to use them.
SWK 782 Advanced Social Work Practice with Groups
by Eloise Bellard - Last Updated Apr 21, 2015
The guide provides resources relevant to Group Work
SWK 857 U.S. Social Work in Historical and Cross National Perspective
by Eloise Bellard - Last Updated Apr 21, 2015
This guide is designed to assist find resources useful for completing the research assignment developed for this ourse
T
Teaching the Alphabet
by Stan Bogdanov, Amrita Madray - Last Updated May 27, 2014
For Elementary Education students.
Tests & Measures (General)
by Eloise Bellard, Jim Mcaleese, Lois O'Neill - Last Updated Apr 21, 2015
Find information and sources about standardized tests and measurements that are used for diagnosis, research, or assessment.
U
University College
by Rachel Isaac-Menard - Last Updated Mar 11, 2014
Using Wikipedia
by Jim Mcaleese, Bianca Rivera - Last Updated Apr 21, 2015
When, why, and how might you use Wikipedia for research?
W
Women in United States History
by Janet Wagner - Last Updated Sep 23, 2014
World War I Literature Resources
by Brian Mcdonald - Last Updated Apr 2, 2015
Z
Zotero
by Amrita Madray - Last Updated Apr 22, 2013
Lets you collect and organize your research.