Skip to main content

Adelphi University Libraries: Databases

Databases

Adelphi University Libraries have over 200 databases for your researching needs. Databases are located on the library homepage under the Articles/Databases tab. You can choose a database by subject or browse all of the databases. Along with journal, magazine and newspaper articles, our databases offer music, images, documentaries, instructional videos, company profiles, plays, ebooks, music scores and more. 

What is a database?

A database is a tool to help you find quality information in publications such as academic journals, newspapers, and magazines. In the library the word database usually refers to a subscription database.  The library subscribes to a database, similarly to how you would subscribe to an individual magazine or newspaper.

Why use Databases?-37 sec tutorial

Remote Access

Many of the databases are available remotely. To gain access, you just need to login with your Adelphi Universal username and password. 

Having Trouble With Your Research?

If you need help with your research Ask A Librarian!

Databases for Finding Articles by Discipline

Search Databases

To find articles in a specific subject area, here is a list of our databases by subject:

 

 or Browse all Databases

 

Connect to Article

Connect to Article--Article Linker

Connect to Article

Results from a database search are often in the form of a list of citations. Article Linker is a tool to help you retrieve full text journal or newspaper articles, connecting you to the whole article if the journal or newspaper is in an AU database. To begin, look for the icon in your results page

Since our collection includes databases from varying vendors, not all databases connect in the same manner.

  • In some cases the system will connect directly to the article.
  • Or, the page may contain a link to the article. 
  • Or, you may have to enter the Journal title into Alicat and then find the needed Volume & Issue

Review the following guides to familiarize yourself with Article Linker. If an article is not available in any AU database online then you may order the article through Interlibrary Loan. Fill out and submit your request for a journal article using the online form. The article will then be sent to your Adelphi email account in a few days.

Narrowing a Topic

Narrowing Your Topic

The video will help give you ideas on how to select a subtopic (or narrow down) within the broader topic you have been given to research research.

Click the image to view the video.

Interlibrary Loan

If we do not have full text access to an article your are looking for in one of our databases or periodical print collection, Interlibrary Loan can help you get the article from another library. Please see the Interlibrary Loan webpage for more information. Interlibrary Loan can be utilized by current Adelphi students, administration, faculty and staff.