Skip to main content

Adelphi University Libraries: Books

Book Collection

The Adelphi University Libraries have more than 600,000 volumes in the book collection. The books are accessible through our catalog OneSearch. The catalog contains all the records from Swirbul Library and our Centers. Adelphi students can borrow books from any of our libraries. If a book is at a different location from where the student is, the student can simply click on Request hold in the record and request the book be sent. Our book collection is arranged by Library of Congress Classification. Letters and titles are assigned by the Library of Congress; click here for a listing of the main classes. How to read a Library of Congress call number is explained in the video below. 

OneSearch

Find nearly everything in the Libraries' collections with OneSearch:


    

Search by Title, Author, Subject, etc.   Alicat Classic   WorldCat    Need help?

Jumpstart your research using eReference and eBook Central

Ebooks

Adelphi University Libraries offer an extensive collection of ebooks. Ebooks can be found within our book catalog and through Ebrary Academic Complete on our database page. We also have a large collection of eReference books, click here for a list of eReference databases

How to Read a Call Number

Interlibrary Loan

If a book you are looking for is not in our catalog, Interlibrary Loan can help you get the book from another library. Please see the Interlibrary Loan webpage for more information. Interlibrary Loan can be utilized by current Adelphi students, administrators, faculty and staff

Borrow, Renew, Return

Swirbul Library Map

Click on a level in the image in order to access the specific floor map.

Level S Level 2S Level C 1st Floor Level 3S Level 4S 2nd Floor Level 5S

Click HERE to find locations for services, collections, and holdings

ConnectNY

Adelphi University is a member of ConnectNY, a consortium of academic libraries within New York State.

Have Questions?

If you need help, Ask A Librarian!