Skip to main content

Social Work 333 Principles and Practice in Social Work II: Getting Started

UMUC- How to Write an Annotated Bibliography Tutorial

How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography

Below are links to several websites that will assist you in creating and writing a critical annotated bibliography.

University of Toronto  Writing an Annotated Bibliography  This website provides an excellent source for how to write a summary, how to identify the argument,  how to assess the relevance of sources and numerous terms to help you write the sources.    

Pierce College library Annotated Bibliographies Critical Annotations Provides a good explanation of what makes a good annotation.  Shows several examples as well

Preparing an Annotated Bibliography By University of Maryland University College.  Easy to understand guide on how to prepare an annotated bibliography with excellent examples of each type of annotation and what should be included.  Critical Annotations are what is required.

Writing an Annotated Bibliography by the Writing center at the University of Wisconsin at Madison. Good general website that describes annotated bibliographies

Welcome to Principles and Practice in Social Work II - Research Assignment

As Adelphi University Social Work students, the first thing you need to know is that the librarians and staff of Swirbul Library are here to help you!

Using the library can be confusing. We have many resources & services that are available for you.  The Library component of SWK 333 is designed to introduce you to some of these resources and services.  This pathfinder is designed to compliment the library session and provide you a permanent guide to the resources you were introduced to in the session.

If you have difficulty finding what you need or don't know where to begin feel free to ask a librarian. You can usually find a librarian at the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor. The Reference Desk is staffed more than 60 hours each week. You can also reach us by phone (516-877-3574)or chat with us online.

‚Äč

Annotated Bibliography Assignment

Each student will develop an annotated bibliography on a topic related to practice. Choose a current social work topic that is important in your work with individuals, groups, families and communities. The bibliography should include between 6 to 8 peer reviewed journal articles and include both summative and critical analysis of the work considered.  No more than two books should be used for this paper.

The annotated bibliography should include an introductory statement that provides an overview of the paper as well as the topic itself. In addition, you should include a problem statement and indication of the significance of your review. That should be followed by entries for each article that include: the citation, summary and analysis of each article using the format described below.

Source Citation in APA format

Summary: Describes the purpose, significance, research questions, method(s), data source, findings/results of the research.  May also include limitations of the research identified by the authors. 

Analysis:  How do you see the document contributing to the topic at large (i.e. were the findings useful for research/practice, etc.?); what additional limitations you might perceive in either research or practice; how does the article complement or contradict the findings from other sources, etc. 

The topic needs to be approved by the instructor and the paper should be 6 - 8 pages excluding title page. It must typed, double spaced and prepared in APA format.

COORDINATOR OF INSTRUCTIONAL SERVICES/REFERENCE LIBRARIAN

Prof. Jason Byrd's picture
Prof. Jason Byrd
Contact:
208 Swirbul Library
jbyrd@adelphi.edu
516.877.3584

Please Help!

Feedback, Please!

The pages in the Guide each have a box asking for feedback--Is this page useful?--for your research.  I would appreciate any comments and suggestions you might offer!