Skip to main content

ENG 107 (Honors) - Professor Craig: Home

Guide to assist student work on their research assignment

Analyzing Your Sources

Before retrieving a research item from the library’s shelves or from an electronic database, you can begin to evaluate its usefulness of the source by examining its bibliographic citation.

What is a bibliographic citation? The bibliographic citation is a written description of a book, journal article, or other published work.  

Texas A&M library has a good site to assist you in crtically analyzing information sources with a worksheet below to assist you in the process. 

ANNOTATION WORKSHEET

Below is a link to a PDF that you can print out to assist you when preparing an annotation.  Make sure that you include the main purpose of the text,  it's relation to other works in you list, the authors standpoint, ideas, theory or hypothesis, the audience intended and your conclusions. 

What's Your Issue?

How to Find 2 Sides of an Issue

This guide will help you to find information on how locate an issue and find opposing viewpoints. For a quick reference guide on how to find two sides of an issue  print out, download below.                                               image wordle

What is an Annotated Bibiliography

A bibliography is a list of sources (books, journals, websites, periodicals, etc.) one has used for researching a topic. Bibliographies are sometimes called "references" or "works cited" depending on the style format you are using. A bibliography usually just includes the bibliographic information (i.e., the author, title, publisher, etc.).

An annotation is a summary and/or evaluation.

Therefore, an annotated bibliography includes a summary and/or evaluation of each of the sources. Depending on your project or the assignment, your annotations may do one or more of the following: For this assignment you will do both.

  • Summarize:  What is the point of this book or article? What topics are covered? If someone asked what this article/book is about, what would you say?  "What are the author's main arguments? What conclusions did the author draw?"The length of your annotations will determine how detailed your summary is. 
  • Evaluate:   Is it a useful source? How does it compare with other sources in your bibliography? Is the information reliable? Is this source biased or objective? What is the goal of this source? This type of annotation seeks to answer these types of questions: 

    "Is the reasoning sound? 
    Is the author's presentation of the facts objective? 
    Is the methodology sound? Is this source useful for my audience? 
    Are the conclusions still valid in light of new research? 
    What contribution does this make to the field? 
    Does this source address all the relevant issues?" 
    In short, "How does this source measure up in comparison to other sources on this topic?"

Annotated bibliography can be formatted according to MLA or  APA style. There are some general tips for writing annotated bibliographies:

Coordinator of Instructional Services/Reference Librarian

Prof. Jason Byrd's picture
Prof. Jason Byrd
Contact:
208 Swirbul Library
jbyrd@adelphi.edu
516.877.3584

Writing A Position Paper

Below you will fink links to handouts that  will provide you with techniques and strategies for writing position papers, as well as their elements.