Important Books
Thinking in Pictures by Call Number: RC553.A88 G74 2006ISBN: 9780307275653Publication Date: 2006-01-10
Animals Make Us Human by Call Number: QL785.27 .G73 2010ISBN: 9780547248233Publication Date: 2010-01-12
Animals in Translation by Call Number: QL751 .G73 2005ISBN: 9780743247696Publication Date: 2004-12-28
College for Students with Disabilities : We Do Belong by Call Number: eBookISBN: 184905732XPublication Date: 2015
Autism Spectrum Disorder by Call Number: AU does not own this book. It can be requested through ILL.ISBN: 9780199349722Publication Date: 2016-02-19
Important Scholarly Journals on Autism
The following articles can be found online through the Adelphi University Library Databases. For quick access, try using our new One Search!
Boyd, B. A., Odom, S. L., Humphreys, B. P., & Sam, A. M. (2010). Infants and toddlers with autism spectrum disorder: Early identification and early intervention. Journal of Early Intervention, 32(2), 75-98. doi: 10.1177/1053815110362690
Hoogenhout, M. & Malcolm-Smith, S. (2016). Theory of mind predicts severity level in autism. Autism. Advance online publication. doi: 10.1177/1362361316636758
Trevisan, D. & Birmingham, E. (2016). Examining the relationship between autistic traits and college adjustment. Autism, 20(6), 719-29. doi: 10.1177/1362361315604530
Kangesan, B. (2016). Autism and asperger’s syndrome. InnovAiT. Advance online publication. doi: 10.1177/1755738016657570
Bird, G., & Cook, R. (2013). Mixed emotions: The contribution of alexithymia to the emotional symptoms of autism. Translational Psychiatry, 3(7), e285–. doi: 10.1038/tp.2013.61
Farrugia, S., & Hudson, J. (2006). Anxiety in adolescents with asperger syndrome: Negative thoughts, behavioral problems, and life interference. Focus on Autism and Other Developmental Disabilities, 21(1), 25-35. doi: 10.1177/10883576060210010401
Databases
- PsycBooks This link opens in a new window Full-text database of APA books, classic books, and entries from the Encyclopedia of Psychology.
This link opens in a new window
- PsycArticles This link opens in a new window Full-text database of journals published by APA and other publishers, including subject areas such as applied psychology, health, theory, research, and social/personality.
This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Large multidisciplinary database including more than 25,000 titles, over 19,000 in full text. Besides journals, PQC includes 2206 newspapers, over 100,000 full text dissertations, 30,000 market reports, with some backfiles dating as far back as 1921
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Standard Manuals
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by Call Number: RC455.2.C4 D536 2013ISBN: 9780890425541Publication Date: 2013-05-22
- ICD-10 Version:2016The International Classification of Diseases (ICD) is the standard diagnostic tool for epidemiology, health management and clinical purposes. This includes the analysis of the general health situation of population groups. It is used to monitor the incidence and prevalence of diseases and other health problems, proving a picture of the general health situation of countries and populations.
Resources on Campus
- Bridges to Adelphi ProgramThe Bridges to Adelphi Program offers individualized comprehensive academic, social, and vocational services that are designed to make college transition easier. This fee-based program offers regularly scheduled meetings to help with executive functioning and time management issues, problem-solving skills, and a wide variety of social opportunities.
- Center for Health Innovation - Autism Related ActivitiesProvides a list of local experts on autism, programs available, initiatives and partnership programs on campus.
- AU Disability Support ServicesIncludes services available specifically to Adelphi students with documented disabilities.
- Student Guide to Disability ServicesThe Student Guide contains information on the responsibilities of faculty and students, reasonable accommodations, documentation, testing arrangements, confidentiality, campus accessibility, the grievance procedures and the Student Counseling Center.
Local Resources
- Long Island Advocacy CenterThe Long Island Advocacy Center, Inc. (THE LIAC) is a private non-for-profit agency dedicated to
protecting the legal rights of students and individuals with disabilities. - Day/Residential Programs - Long Island RegionApproved Private Schools Serving Students with Autism
- Cody Center for Autism and Developmental DisabilitiesThe Cody Center for Autism and Developmental Disabilities at Stony Brook University works to promote excellence in clinical treatment, research, community service, and educational programs benefiting those with Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASD) and related developmental disabilities.
- Specialisterne USASpecialisterne USA is driving the nationwide expansion of the proven international job creation and employment concept, Specialisterne (“The Specialists”). We assess, train and employ individuals with autism as consultants in IT and other sectors with technically oriented tasks and jobs, with 80-90% of our employees working at corporate partner sites.
- Employment for People with DisabilitiesThe webpage features information for individuals with disabilities who want to work and for providers of employment supports.
- New York Self-Determination CoalitionThe New York Self-Determination Coalition is an ad hoc group of parents and professionals dedicated to promoting self-determination as an option for persons with developmental disabilities who require support through New York State’s OPWDD HCBS Waiver program.
- Asperger Syndrome & High Functioning Autism Association (AHA) of NYAHA serves individuals on the autism spectrum, their families, and the professionals who work with them, providing crucial resources and support as they face challenges, build on their strengths and fulfill their potential. Learn more about AHA now.
Quotient Questionnaires
- Empathy Quotient QuestionnaireThe Empathy Quotient (EQ) is a 60-item questionnaire (there is also a shorter, 40-item version) designed to measure empathy in adults.
- The Adult Autism Spectrum Quotient (AQ), Ages 16+The AQ is a 50-item questionnaire developed by The Autism Research Centre at the University of Cambridge.